2 shy of 1000, but 998 will do!

Wow, I can’t believe today was the last day of clinics! It was so sad to leave all of the people we were serving and caring for. In 2 days we saw 998 patience, provided medication, hygiene and nutrition education and prayer. Working together as a team and having God first was the only way this was possible. I did over 30 cervical cancer screenings on my own, and over 90 total as a team within two days. I never imagined I would be doing vaginal exams, maybe one during clinical rotations, but not 96 exams. 

When I first found out I was going to be in the cancer screening area, I had so much joy! To be able to catch someone’s cancer early on is big. Cancer has messed with so many people dear to me and I want to either make a difference and try to prevent them from getting it, or catch it during the earlier stages. 

Over the past two days, I got to work with some amazing women who were ages 28,28, 29 and 30. They took me in as a little sister and tried to teach me everything they knew. 

One patient told me I was an amazing doctor and thanked me for caring for her. Although I’m not a doctor, that gave me so much hope and it confirmed the things God has planned for me. 


The people trust us to care for them and they don’t question our skill, or our procedure. It’s amazing! 

I had the privilege of holding a beautiful baby while his mother was getting seen by the doctor. Something about children that can make your whole world light up even when it seems so dark.  


Through it all, today I learned that you don’t have to speak the same language to show love, love comes in many shapes, sizes, colors, and languages. God is love, and He loves all! 

Leave a comment