God can turn Something so messy into something so beautiful!

This whole entire trip I was excited to be able to ride an elephant, and when that plan failed, I began to say I wanted to see the birth of a child. Why? Honestly I didn’t know at the time why I wanted to, except for the fact I thought it would be interesting!

20130330-165907.jpg
When the first set of students went to volunteer at the clinic, they came back saying a baby was Born the other day. That made me think that it was more realistic and that I would be able to actually see a baby born. When the time came for me to go to the clinic, I went with 2 of our nursing students. We were in the room with one of the Cambodian nurses while he was doing an assessment and I started to look outside the office and noticed a pregnant woman. The next time I turned around she was gone. I began to question where did she go and found out she was going into labor! I got excited and the nurse agreed to let me watch then the others came as well. Once we were in the room, she asked if we wanted to help and we said yes of course. This did not seem real, I couldn’t believe it was actually coming true and I was about to see my first birth experience! One of the nursing students said ” we may not be able to see it, because it can take hours or days”. Our shift was only about 3 hours and the first 2 had already passed. I told them no we will. Next thing you know, the baby was ready to come out!!! Seeing the babies hair really made it reality. As the head worked its way out, tears of joy surfaced our faces as if we were delivering our own babies. Then the entire body slide our so fast it was amazing!! Then to find out it was a cute little baby girl made it even more exciting! I couldn’t believe the mother did not make a sound and she had no medication for pain. Cambodian people are so strong, there is nobody in America I know that is as quiet as a mouse during labor!

20130330-171755.jpg

20130330-171815.jpg
At that moment, it became even more clear that the medical field is where God wants me to be and that gynecology is possibly my specialty! God always has plans that we cannot see and He has ways of making it clear what our purpose is and I am grateful for this wonderful experience. Can’t wait to have a child of my own so I can experience that joy again!

Time for dinner!! Yum!!

Leave a comment